SICP in Emacs

Most people reading this will know that Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs (SICP) by Abelson and Sussman is one of the most well known and recommended books when it comes to core Computer Science, algorithms, and functional programming. Suffice it to say, if you want to explore these areas and enhance your programming on a level beyond knowing the latest framework, check out this book. It’s freely available online, as well as recordings of lectures the authors gave.

Now, in case that’s not nerdy enough for you, I found a version in texinfo yesterday. Complete with all graphics converted to ASCII art. Yes, kinda scary, but it rocks: have your Emacs display an info buffer with the book and a Scheme or CL REPL to play with the book’s code and work on the exercises. Just move around the book and evaluate the code snippets there. Neat!

I guess that means I have to resume my project of working through the exercises. I’m not even sure where my first couple solutions are…

Tags: , , , , , ,


